This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

City Seal  small

City Council Members


Henderson functions under a Council/Manager non-partisan form of government. The City Council is comprised of eight part-time council members representing the four Wards of the City, along with the Mayor. The council members serve four-year staggered terms and the mayor serves a four-year term.


The City Council is the policy-making body for the City of Henderson. The Council is responsible for adopting the budget; establishing policy; enacting ordinances, resolutions, and other actions; approving appropriations and contracts; and levying taxes. In addition, City Council appoints the city manager, city attorney, city clerk, along with the members of various boards and commissions.

The Henderson City Council meets on the 2nd Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in Council Chambers, 134 Rose Avenue.  Below is your current Council:


Marion Brodie Williams:  Ward 1
Term Expires: 2023
Phone: 252-767-3977
Committee Assignments: Boards & Commissions, Land Planning, Public Works


Sara M. Coffey, Mayor Pro-Tem: Ward 1 At-Large
Term  Expires: 2025
Phone: 252-767-3187
Committee Assignments:  Boards & Commissions, Human Resources, Public Safety


D. Michael Rainey:  Ward 2
Term Expires: 2023
Phone: 252-492-1195
Committee Assignments: Intergovernmental, Land Planning Public Works

Noel - Copy

Lamont Noel: Ward 2 At-Large
Term  Expires:   2025
Phone: 252-432-6979
Committee Assignments: 


Garry D. Daeke:  Ward 3
Current Term: 2025
Phone: 252-438-7215
Committee Assignments: Human Resources, Land Planning, Public Works, KLRW Advisory Board

Melissa little

Melissa Elliott: Ward 3 At-Large 
Term Expires: 2023
Phone: 252-425-5220
Committee Assignments:  Chaplain, Human Resources, Intergovernmental, Public Safety

Ola Thorpe-Cooper

Ola Thorpe-Cooper Ward   4
Term Expires: 2025
Phone:  202-236-4637
Committee Assignments: Human Resources, Land Planning, E-911

Jason 1

Jason A. Spriggs:
 Ward 4 At-Large
Term  Expires: 2023
Phone: 252-226-9570
Committee Assignments: Board & Commissions, Intergovernmental, Public Safety